Longest Path by Dan Barrett

Recorded by Dan Barrett in 1988 while a student at Johns Hopkins during a difficult algorithms final. And now, one of many undergraduate students listen to it while he create a parallel program for tomorrow presentation. The time is different, but the feeling stay the same😀.

Woh-oh-oh-oh, find the longest path!
Woh-oh-oh-oh, find the longest path!
If you said P is NP tonight,
There would still be papers left to write,

I have a weakness,
I’m addicted to completeness,
And I keep searching for the longest path.

The algorithm I would like to see
Is of polynomial degree,
But it’s elusive:
Nobody has found conclusive
Evidence that we can find a longest path.

I have been hard working for so long.
I swear it’s right, and he marks it wrong.
Some how I’ll feel sorry when it’s done: GPA 2.1
Is more than I hope for.

Garey, Johnson, Karp and other men (and women)
Tried to make it order N log N.
Am I a mad fool
If I spend my life in grad school,
Forever following the longest path?

Woh-oh-oh-oh, find the longest path!
Woh-oh-oh-oh, find the longest path!
Woh-oh-oh-oh, find the longest path.

Sumber : http://www.jakubw.pl/inne/longest.html

Leave a Reply

